Our life in a very small nut shell

I have never blogged before. I have read dozens of blogs written by moms with seemingly perfect lives. My life is FAR from that. I am 24 (a month off from 25) and I am the proud mom of my 4 year old daughter Abby Jean. She was by the far the biggest surprise of my life, making her grand appearance 9 weeks before my 21st birthday. Her dad and I were high school sweethearts and thought that our love would last forever. Fun fact: that didn’t last as long as either of us planned.

He and I were so called “best friends” with hard-core benefits. And needless to say, that is how Abby came to be. We found out I was pregnant January 2, 2009. And months of emotions and decisions followed. Being a practicing Catholic, the A word was never an option, but yet it caused many fights between he and I. My mother, being the not so supportive old fashioned Italian woman she is asked two questions when I told her the big news. First, “So you and (insert man name here) are getting married?”….that was a BIG no….followed by, “So you’re giving the baby up for adoption?” WHOA! this is not the 1950’s and I am not “in trouble”. I was freshly twenty with a job and an apartment of my own, why shouldn’t I keep my baby?

Needless to say, fight after fight occurred and two months later I drove to a city 1500 miles away to live with a family member. I stayed and worked and went to school there for 6 months. There was minimal contact between Abby’s father and I. He did at one point inform me that I had been replaced with another woman who “understood his problems”. O right I forgot YOU’RE the only one with problems… anyway, I brushed that off with a week of hormonal tears and milkshakes. Then came the time when I got to find out whether or not this alien inside my newly strethmarked body would be a boy or a girl. (I had been pulling for a boy…there are A LOT of girls in my family) but no, the very judgmental ultrasound tech reluctantly informed me that precious (abusive) life inside of me was indeed a girl…and with her newly discovered gender revealed, came the time to name her. We both liked Abby (yes short for Abigail….even though he just wanted Abby on the birth certificate…) the middle name was an issue. We both wanted her middle name to honor our own grandmother’s, but there could only be one. I gave up the fight because at this time I didn’t have the energy to tie my shoe, let alone fight over a name that would never be used. Fun Fact: I use it ALL the time.

 

I would continue this story now, but my very hungry four year old is begging for her princess show and dinner…

Till next time.

Leave a Reply

